Un poco de todo

La Tour Eiffel–Symbol of Industrialism

Roaming Historian

As a legal historian who generally looks at issues of labor and gender during the Gilded Age and Progressive era, I spend a lot of time thinking about the late 19th century and industrialism. This is why I couldn’t wait to visit the Eiffel Tower in Paris last summer. Since I was five, I wanted to go to Paris. I had dreamed about going for most of my childhood and teenage years. Then the dream got pushed to the back of mind. What’s funny is that until recently I hadn’t wanted to see the Eiffel Tower. I thought that it was cliche…overdone…too touristy–until I taught a class in Chicago on the 1893 World’s Fair.

Gustave Eiffel had awed the world with his design for a tower to dominate the landscape of the Universal Exposition in Paris. As I researched the 1893 Columbian Exposition, I realized the magnitude of the Tower’s…

View original post 302 more words

Leave a Reply

